Home  |  Contact us  |  About us  |  Blog  |  Useful links

Public Holidays

Banks, businesses, government offices and many shops close all day for public holidays.

Fixed public holidays include:

New Year’s Day
January 1st
Labour Day
May 1st
Independence Day
May 25th
Christmas Day
December 25th

A number of public holidays are not fixed. These include Easter and the following Islamic Holidays, which are based on the Lunar calendar:

  • Eid al-Fitr - A 3 or 4-day feast marking the end of Ramadan.
  • Eid al-Adha - A 4 day feast at the end of the Hajj, or month of pilgrimage to Mecca.
  • First of Muharam - Islamic New Year.
  • The Birthday of Prophet Mohammed (PBUH).